The intrigue of Juniper Lane by Kady Morrison

Never in my life have I read a book where the characters felt more real. Juniper Lane by Kady Morrison is a breakout, first novel. Morrison is a writer who’s been very interesting in exploring character’s emotional motives, and it is fabulous to see what she can do when she is given free reign to create her own world.

This book has it all. There are lost souls, gossips, family secrets, romances, vicious and cats, fancy food, hippies, and suburbanites, but mostly there are people who are trying to figure it out and make it in this world. These characters are some of the best. They are awkward, raw, feeling creatures. You can see how their pasts affect where they are now and how they overcome all the pain they’ve had to endure. There is real character growth happening in the book, and it feels like watching a baby learn to walk (read the book and you’ll understand what I mean).

I loved this book, and I can’t say I’ve ever quite read anything like it. It had me laughing at times and at times hiding my face in my hands (in glee). Overall, I was sad every time I had to put it down, and I wish with all my heart there was a sequel.

 

 

You can find the book at barnes and noble or on amazon.

Leave a Reply

